Skip to main content

Academic Registry and Council Secretariat

Staff elections to Council 2021

The election to Council of three academic staff members was held 12-23 July 2021. This followed a two week nomination period (21 June - 2 July) during which time 9 self-nominations were received across the three roles. The ballot was run according to the Single Transferable Vote [PDF 199KB] system and voting was conducted using Microsoft forms. 

The successful candidate are: 

Professor Kavita Datta, Academic staff member (Humanities and Social Sciences)

Professor Mangala Patel, Academic staff member (School of Medicine and Dentistry)

Professor Yang Hao, Academic staff member (Science and Engineering)


The positions are for four years from 30 September 2021. 

Returning Officer's report [PDF 315KB]

Full results table [PDF 406KB]


Background information to the election process


QMUL Council

Council is the governing body of QMUL. Members listen to, discuss, and constructively challenge the senior executive in relation to the QMUL Strategy, the use of public funds, the management of our finances, and compliance with our statutory obligations.

The Council membership includes both QMUL staff and individuals external to QMUL, including five elected members of academic and Professional Services staff.  Members have a responsibility to act in the best interests of QMUL and not as representatives of a particular staff group, school, institute, or department.

Council member role description [PDF 18KB]

Return to top